News

Faculty of Engineering Sciences starts

01/10/21 With the aim of pooling its expertise in the field of technology and engineering, and expanding its range of research and subjects in a field of competence that is developing dynamically, Heidelberg University has founded a new faculty – the Faculty of Engineering Sciences. [...]

Welcome to the Faculty of Biosciences

Heidelberg University’s Faculty of Biosciences is one of Europe’s most vibrant and interactive life science faculties in the areas of research and education.  It includes a wide spectrum of disciplines, ranging from molecular biosciences to biodiversity. Research questions are addressed by many different experimental and computer-aided methods ranging from crystallography to whole genome sequencing. Highlights of our scientific life can be found under News, everything you may want to know about individual research groups and collaborative research networks can be found under Research.

The Faculty of Biosciences is part of Heidelberg’s unique campus structure, the Neuenheimer Feld. It not only hosts all the natural and life science faculties, but also the Medical Faculty, plus excellent non-university research institutions like the German Cancer Research Center or the Max-Planck-Institute for Medical Research. Heidelberg’s molecular life science community has successfully positioned itself within the German Excellence Initiative. This has contributed to the development of campus-wide core facilities, providing easy access to cutting-edge technology needed for innovative research and first-class education.

Undergraduate and Graduate Studies

Bachelor

Master

Staatsexamen

Biochemie

Biochemie

Biologie (Lehramt)

Biologie (50% Bachelor, für Lehramt)

Molecular Biosciences*

Pharmazie**

Biowissenschaften

Molekulare Biotechnologie**

 

Molekulare Biotechnologie**

Science Education

 

* conducted completely in English

**The Molekulare Biotechnologie programs and the Pharmazie program will relocate to the Faculty of Engineering Sciences in 2022

 

Doctoral Studies - PhD Programmes

 

We welcome PhD candidates from all over the world!

All PhD students in our faculty are supported by thesis advisory committees, participate in methods courses and receive soft skills training. They are usually enrolled in structured graduate programmes, the largest of which is offered by the Heidelberg Biosciences International Graduate School (HBIGS). All programmes are conducted in English.

More information can be found here.

Centres and Institutes

The research groups affiliated to the faculty are organised into six institutes and research centres.

Bioquant

    

Centre for Organismal Studies (COS)

Center for Molecular Biology of Heidelberg University (ZMBH)

Heidelberg University Biochemistry Center (BZH)

Interdisciplinary Center for Neurosciences (IZN) 

 

Institute of Pharmacy and Molecular Biotechnology (IPMB)

Starting October 2021, the IPMB has relocated to the Faculty of Engineering Sciences

Aktuelles

Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften fängt an

01/10/21 Mit dem Ziel, ihre technisch-ingenieurwissenschaftliche Expertise zu bündeln und ihr Forschungs- und Fächerspektrum in einem sich dynamisch entwickelnden Kompetenzfeld auszubauen, hat die Universität Heidelberg eine neue Fakultät gegründet – die Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften. [...]

Willkommen an der Fakultät für Biowissenschaften

Die Fakultät für Biowissenschaften der Universität Heidelberg gehört in Forschung und Lehre zu den attraktivsten lebenswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten Europas. Sie umfasst ein breites Spektrum von Arbeitsgebieten von den molekularen Biowissenschaften bis hin zur Biodiversität. Forschungsfragen werden mit Hilfe aller denkbaren experimentellen und Computer-gestützten Verfahren von der Strukturbiologie bis hin zur Systembiologie adressiert. Aktuelle Beispiele aus dem wissenschaftlichen Leben unserer Fakultät finden Sie unter Aktuelles, Informationen zu einzelnen Arbeitsgruppen und Forschungsnetzwerken finden Sie auf den Seiten der Zentren und Institute sowie unter Research.

Die Fakultät ist Teil des einzigartigen Campus in Heidelberg, dem Neuenheimer Feld. Das Neuenheimer Feld beherbergt nicht nur alle naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultäten und die Medizin Heidelberg, sondern auch hervorragende außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen. Die Mitglieder der Molekularen Lebenswissenschaften Heidelberg waren sehr erfolgreich in der Exzellenzinitiative. Das hat unter Anderem zum Aufbau der Campus-weiten Core-Facilities beigetragen, die Zugang zu high-end Technologien für Forschung und Lehre sehr erleichtern.

Studienprogramme

Bachelor

Master

Staatsexamen

Biochemie

Biochemie

Biologie (Lehramt)

Biologie (50% Bachelor, für Lehramt)

Molecular Biosciences*

Pharmazie**

Biowissenschaften

Molekulare Biotechnologie**

 

Molekulare Biotechnologie**

Education

 

* ist englischsprachig

** Die Studienprogramme Molekulare Biotechnologie und Pharmazie werden 2022 bei der Fakultät für Ingenieurswissenschaften untergebracht

Doktorandenprogramme

Alle Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen unserer Fakultät werden durch Betreuungskommittees unterstützt und nehmen an Methodenkursen sowie an Training in Soft skills teil. Die meisten Doktoranden nehmen an strukturierten Programmen teil, beispielsweise am Programm der Heidelberg Biosciences International Graduate School (HBIGS)

Wir akzeptieren Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus aller Welt, selbstverständlich sind unsere Kursangebote in Englisch. 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier (nur auf Englisch)

Zentren und Institute

Die Arbeitsgruppen unserer Fakultät sind in Instituten und fakultätsübergreifenden Zentren organisiert:

Biochemie Zentrum Heidelberg (BZH)

    

Bioquant

Centre for Organismal Studies (COS)

Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Neurowissenschaften (IZN)

Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie Heidelberg (ZMBH)

 

Institut für Pharmazie and Molekulare Biotechnologie (IPMB)

Das IPMB ist ab 1/10/21 bei der Fakultät für Ingenieurswissenschaften untergebracht